$BV.configure("global", { submissionContainerUrl: "http://www.johnfrieda.com/en-US/Forms/Ratings-And-Reviews/Default.aspx" }); Sheer Blonde® Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray from the John Frieda® Hair Care experts
Precision Foam Color

Shimmering, Salon-Quality Blonde at Home

Discover
Not sure which product is right for you?

Visit the Product Advisor for your solution

GO
Destination Blonde:

Tips. Trends. Expert Style.

Achieve Your Best Blonde

Lighter, Brighter, Bolder Blonde Learn More >

Go Blonder Controlled Lightening SprayGo Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray

Sheer Blonde® Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray

Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 355.
  • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_355
  • loc_en_US, sid_sb-go-blonder-controlled-lightening-spray, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_johnfrieda-en_us
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 47ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • Versatile, patent-pending formula with citrus and chamomile works with styling heat to gradually lighten and brighten for a natural-looking, blonder blonde. Contains thermo-protectant. Patent-pending technology combines fixative and conditioning polymers that retain hydrogen peroxide, allowing for control of lightening. Visibly lightens in 3-5 uses.

Available in:
3.5 fl. oz. size

NOT SUITABLE FOR USE ON MEDIUM BROWN OR DARKER SHADES OF HAIR

Directions: Spray thoroughly on towel-dried hair; then style as desired. For optimal lightening, use a flat iron or curling iron after blow-drying. The more heat you use, the greater the lightening effects.

Tips & Techniques

  • Dry Gently

    Before using the Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray, remove excess moisture from hair by gently patting strands with a soft, microfiber towel.

  • Tips for Using Go Blonder Controlled Lightening Spray

    ALL-OVER LIGHTENING:
    Spray hair thoroughly, making sure to cover surface and under sections. Comb through and blow-dry.

    HIGHLIGHTS:
    Spray on select strands from root to end. Comb through and blow-dry.

    ROOT-BLENDING:
    Part hair into 1 inch sections and spray on roots. Blow-dry.

Warning: For external use, on scalp hair only. Contains hydrogen peroxide. Wash hands immediately after using. Avoid contact with eyes and other sensitive areas. If this occurs, immediately flush thoroughly with water. Discontinue use if you experience skin irritation or redness. Do not use on a sensitive, irritated or damaged scalp. Store container away from heat and light. Protect surrounding fabrics from overspray. Not intended for use on medium brown or darker shades of hair. This product will permanently lighten the color of your hair. Keep away from children.

WATER, HYDROGEN PEROXIDE, POLYSORBATE 20, DISODIUM PHOSPHATE, PHOSPHORIC ACID, VP/VA COPOLYMER, FRAGRANCE, POLYQUATERNIUM-47, POLYQUATERNIUM-55, PROPYLENE GLYCOL, EXT. VIOLET 2, VITIS VINIFERA, (GRAPE) JUICE EXTRACT, ALCOHOL, CHAMOMILLA RECUTITA (MATRICARIA), FLOWER EXTRACT, CITRUS MEDICA LIMONUM (LEMON) PEEL EXTRACT, GLYCERIN, HELIANTHUS ANNUUS (SUNFLOWER) SEED EXTRACT, VITIS VINIFERA (GRAPE) SEED EXTRACT TOCOPHEROL, PEG-40 HYDROGENATED CASTOR OIL

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fab Lightening Spray I have been using this product since it came to the market. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. It really works.. seriously. I use all the products in this line and this old lady is not doughty! 65 and still kicking. Really wakes up my hair in the dead of winter and gives me lift both in looks and moods..which we all need!
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle! This product literally changed my life. My hair is light brown naturally and I use it to make it blonde and it's gorgeous! Works like a charm. It hardly damages my hair either! Cheap and effective.
Date published: 2016-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely LOVE this product My hair is naturally dark blonde / light brown. I use this product from time to time to add highlights or to get a natural ombre look. I spray it in my hair before blow drying, and I personally notice a difference even after one use. I absolutely LOVE this product. It easily gives me the look I hope to achieve, especially in the summer when I want more dimension to my hair. The only thing I'm not keen on is the scent, it's tolerable but not the best. Also, people need to realize that constantly using heat and this product WILL damage your hair. Do not abuse this product and mistake it for a hair dye substitute, and you will not have a problem.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've ever used! I've used various of things to help lighted my hair over the years. I used Sun-in when I was in middle school and high school and that worked for me at the time. Since joining the military and working in a building all day or sometimes all night, I didn't spend that much time outdoors like I used to. My blonde was borderline brown, and dull. I had completely lost the luster in my hair. I bought this product in hopes of returning my hair to a bright blonde shade that I used to come by naturally. And boy did I get just that. Even in the first use, my hair lightened up immediately. I've since used it four times, and now my hair has that perfect blonde luster that I used to have as a kid. I am in love with this product, and I would recommend it to anyone looking to restore their bright blonde layers!
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results to a natural blonde I am a natural blonde. I used the product for a month once per week and the result was excellent. I did not noticed the difference but everyone was asking me if I changed my hair colour. My hair look brighter with a very natural way. I am very pleased with my purchase. However, it smells a bit funny. I am not the biggest fun of the fragrance.
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product I never dye my hair now have I ever dyed it. This product lets me keep my summer blonde all year round! Love, Love, Love it! Been using it since 8th grade
Date published: 2015-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! It really turned my hair lighter after around 10 uses. Now I just use it on the hair root twice a month.
Date published: 2015-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works!!!! I'm a natural Blonde (Very Light Gold). My hair was getting very dark and I wanted to get it lighter without dying (dyeing), so I looked up and went to stores to see what they had, I found this product and it looked good (as Sheer Blonde Shampoo and conditioner worked and helped me a lot). About 2 uses my hair was blonder! It was so easy to use, and to me, the smell was okay and didn't smell bad. This Products does work, and I still use it ever once month! All my friends use it and they love it! Thanks to all the people and John for making this!!!!!
Date published: 2015-03-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't get greedy with this product Hi everybody! So like many other people who have used this product, I have watched my natural white blonde hair grow darker through the years into more of a dirty blonde and so I decided to try this spray to lighten it up. My family went on a vacation to Hawaii over spring break and I used it daily while laying out on the beach. In just about 2 weeks my hair was so much lighter and I absolutely loved it. When I came back to school, I received so many compliments on my hair and everybody talked about how good it looked. The spray had helped my hair turn almost platinum and because my hair is long it really stuck out. However I was ignorant to the negative effects of hydrogen peroxide and so I continued to use the spray almost daily over the summer. My hair stayed bright blonde and beachy and I loved it and swore by this product. But after about 5 months of continuous use I noticed little pieces of hair on the top of my head that were much shorter, only about 1 inch long. During school my friend pointed out to me some short pieces of hair on back of my head. Soon the roots on my head became very damaged and frizzy. My hair (only on the top) was very dry and crackly and so I stopped using the product. I now have to use generous amounts of coconut milk, teatree oil and leave-in conditioner to make my hair presentable. The damage done to my hair was probably not all due to the spray seeing as I was also very fond of straightening my hair and not using a lot of conditioning products, but the spray definitely made little pieces of hair fall off from the top which makes it very difficult to pull my hair back into a ponytail (rough for a girl who plays sports). This is not a bad product but people need to be warned to use it with caution. 2 weeks straight of daily use will probably not damage your hair, but continual daily use over long periods of time will. This spray does a great job of lightening hair but don't get too greedy with it, that's what leads to damage!
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love!! Thought I would try it when I first put highlights in my hair last year. After 2 tries I already started noticing a difference. With a combination of leave in conditioner and this spray my hair was healthy and light without dying it again. I am so happy with this product! And I love my healthy light blonde hair!! Thank you for having such an amazing product!
Date published: 2014-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Great product! I'd recommend this product to my friends.
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works if you want to enhance your natural color I have always had natural dark blond hair (well, the color is difficult to define - something like honey/straw/cooper blond), and liked that a lot. When I have recently noticed that my hair is loosing the natural lightness and becoming a tad darker and more to the gray shade side, I decided to look for something to enhance the color. I have bought shampoo, balsam and spray. While shampoo and balsam are nice, I did not notice immediate change. However, the spray did what it was advertised. I usually do not color my hair, nor use hair-dryers, so they are quite healthy. After using 3 times as advised, the hair shade became lighter. My hair stylist did not find any hair damage and agreed that the lighter color suits me better than the one growing back. However now I am wondering how to refresh color on the roots. While the color difference is not very pronounced and I would not advice to lighten dark hair or roots, it works great to accent your natural color. The photo shows difference between the freshly grown hair at the root (several cm) and lighter downwards.
Date published: 2014-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product! This product is great I have brown hair naturally and this paired with the lightening shampoo and conditioner has made my hair a dark blonde. I get a lot of compliments about my hair, and get asked where I get my highlights done! Really love this product it makes my hair brighter and lighter!
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT USE- RUINS HAIR DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!! It ruined my hair!! My hair has been silky and shiny my whole life (even dying it all the time and only using drug store products) I bought this to lighten my roots in between highlights and it ruined my hair completely. the parts where i used actual bleach on my hair are fine. The spots where I used john frida lightening spray are broken off or even worse it creates this frizzy mess where it looks like i've used a tiny crimper on my hair. I've done tons of deep conditioning treatments and reconstructors and nothing helps :/ the worst part is all the damage is at the top and middle of my hair strands so i can't cut it off . Please DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT.
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple, easy to use. I am 60 years old and a natural blonde. My hair has yet to go grey, and I'm suspecting that it won't. I love how John Frieda's Go Blonder brightens up my hair! My daughter comments on how light my hair is looking these days. It is, and it's gorgeous!
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brightens hair, but not worth it I began using this product when I was 18 and a freshmen in college, and I had never dyed my hair before, so I thought this was a good way to make my dirty blond hair look a little bit brighter. I only used the spray a few times, and the top of my hair looked a lot lighter within 2 weeks. However, when I decided to use the spray again about 6 months later, I noticed that I was getting too blond (almost orange) and my hair was beginning to break at the roots. Within a month of my last usage, my hair had thinned completely and I had short pieces of hair at the top of my head. I could not wear my hair down comfortably for several months because it was way too thin. I am now 21, and my hair is still very damaged and much thinner than it was before I started using this product. I still have been unable to dye my hair. I do not recommend this product at all. It is successful in making hair lighter, but the years of damage are not worth it.
Date published: 2013-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic way to extend highlights I spend a great deal of money to make my Scandinavian light blonde hair look like it did when I was 25. It's now several shades darker, and I am fortunate to have a (very expensive) colourist who weaves old and new colours together beautifully. However, after about 6 weeks the crown of my head looks pretty bad - there's a line of demarcation between coloured and non-coloured and my hair looks greasy all the time. I've been using Go Blonder since my last colouring about 12 weeks ago and my hair looks great. I mean, it looks really good and I am now going to save a bunch of money by pushing my colouring out another 12 weeks. I am very picky about my hair colour and like it to look natural. This stuff works ... it is nothing like the old stuff we used in the 70s and 80s. I highly recommend it to preserve your blonde, and your bank balance.
Date published: 2013-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please do not use!! I started using this to deal with roots in between dying my dirty blonde hair platinum blonde. It worked very well for a month or two and then the third month hit and my hair became over processed. I now have hair at the top of my head that has broken off in three places at about an inch long. The hair that didn't break off is coarse and damaged where I sprayed this spray. Thank goodness I only sprayed where I part my hair! I have been able to cover it by parting my hair further over but it is definitely thinner at the top and almost impossible to brush when wet, I can promise you my hair dye did not cause this as I go to a salon and have never experienced this problem before.
Date published: 2013-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A ombre dream so i am a Burnett and i really wanted to ombre my hair, i have really good healthy hair so i wasn't all that worried but i didn't want to dye. i also didn't want a bleach blonde ombre i just wanted it to be a couple shades lighter. So one day i worked this product through the ends of my hair and ran the straightener through it. and CHIZAM! i got awesome locks now, my hair doesn't feel dried out a all! Woot Woot!
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from works, but you'll regret it All my life I've had absolutely gorgeous thick, wavy, long hair. Everyone has always been jealous of my hair, and it's always been my favorite feature on myself. The only thing I was always unhappy about was that when I was younger, my hair used to be very light blonde, but as I got older, it darkened to a dark dirty blonde/light brown. So two years ago, I found this product and excitedly began using it. It worked amazingly, and for awhile I had the perfectly golden locks I'd always wanted. However, after about a year, my mom told me she'd noticed my hair getting dryer and thinner. I didn't want to admit it to myself, wanting to think my hair would stay perfect, and so I kept using this product. But in the last year, the damage has become so evident I cannot deny it any longer. I've lost 2/3 of my hair, and the 1/3 I have left is full of split ends and has broken off in random places. I can't put my hair up without random shorter locks hanging out all over the place because they've broken off. I can't even let it dry naturally after taking a bath because it dries frizzy and horrible, looking like a lion's mane (not over-exaggerating). I look at old pictures or videos of myself and how beautiful my hair used to be. I've come to Hate doing my hair in the morning or at night because it makes me cry to look at how dry and destroyed it is in a mirror. Trust me, you may be happy using this product in the beginning, but it is a terrible mistake you do not want to make. This summer I've decided to cut over half my hair off, to just below my shoulders, and I have to dye it back to the color of my roots. Hopefully it will grow back out thicker by next school year. On top of that, I've been taking hair vitamins, and I have to do hair treatments twice a week with coconut oil and a hair cap overnight. My hair is slooooowly getting thicker at the top, but it nothing like it used to be. My mother constantly tells me she can't believe what I've done to my hair. Please, for your own sake, never start using this product. I feel so much less beautiful without my gorgeous hair :(
Date published: 2013-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! Haven't gotten highlights in over 6 months! Go Blonder is very similar to Sun-In. Go Blonder has a heat protectant and sun-in offers silk amino acids. Both have pros and cons but go Blonder seems to be better on my hair with quicker results. Other reviews about Go blonder with comments about, "It ruined my hair." are simply wrong. Most of those women started out with brown or black hair. And also didn't go by the bottle instructions. It does take paitence and a great conditioner but it works like magic! I have not gotten highlights since Sept. 2012. Keep in mind, my hair is naturally blonde so the results are more quick and effective after 2-3 uses. I only spray it on my roots, so it keeps the damage to a minimum!
Date published: 2013-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've heard horror stories but so far, so good I have used this 4 times and will not use it anymore as I achieved the result I wanted. I am a natural medium blonde who dyed my hair darkest chocolate brown last year and have had full head of foils to try and get back to blonde. I was left with a base of very warm light brown with very dark ash highlights and some light ash bits. I can't afford to go to the hair dresser and keep getting full heads of foils, and it's really damaging and never comes out how I wanted it - always too light because they have to let it develop a lot to get it as ash as possible. So I decided to use the spray since the "controlled lightening" appealed to me and it was so cheap compared to going to a salon. I used a LOT of heat after I put the product in - the equivalent of straightening my hair twice probably. I did that each time. Now my hair is a medium ash-beige blonde with very light ash and beige highlights. I plan on using toner to make it even more ash. I'm surprised it didn't go orange! My hair always goes orange from bleach, whether it's natural or dyed. But it is a little brassy in some parts - however my natural hair colour is VERY ash blonde so I'm sensitive even to a beige colour and will call that brassy. I have heard horror stories about this product but hair dressers base it off their experience with old school sprays. A hair dresser told me my hair will probably keep bleaching every time it heats up and will eventually break off and fall off. This caused me a lot of stress but it has been 2 weeks now and my hair is not damaged or getting any lighter at all. I used conditioning treatments as well. It is a bit drying but so is everything. It feels very starchy after you put it on and style it but that goes away after you wash the product off. I left the product on for about a day each time, then applied more and straightened again. Like I said I did that 4 times, 4 days in a row. I think it should have more in depth instructions, because it doesn't say how OFTEN to use it or how long to leave it on, it just has a thing on the back showing results after 10 uses. Probably safer to avoid this if you have very weak hair. But dont assume your hair is weak just because it's frizzy, coarse etc. Mine is very frizzy and porous but I have used Sun-In spray, then dyed it black, and completely bleached it back to light blonde in one go and my hair didn't fall out. So perhaps people suffering breakage already have weak hair, I'm not sure. I won't be using it any more just in case but my results so far are great.
Date published: 2013-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DO NOT USE, DO NOT USE I had used this product for several months to get my hair blonder during the winter. This past week I went to get highlights (blonde). DON'T EVER EVER EVER GET HIGHLIGHTS AFTER USING THIS PRODUCT. This product melted away my hair that I got highlights on and thanks this product am going to have to go to get deep conditioning treatment twice a week for a month..... PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE, DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT. It will ruin your hair if you get highlights and legit melt your hair away. I now have white pieces that are 1/3 the length of bangs..
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall good product In the winter my hair gets very dark and i wanted to find something that would help my hair get back to a blonder shade rather then spending $100 dollars on highlights every few months. The first few times i used this i saw no change in color and was very skeptical on this product. But i finally started seeing color after about a week of use. The ONLY complaints i have about this product is i thought my hair would've been more of a light blonde but it turned out to be a golden color after a week and a half of use. Also, if i sprayed it too close to my forehead right on my hair line it would burn and i would have to put a wet rag on it to take the burn away. DO NOT BELIEVE WHAT OTHER COMMENTS SAY ABOUT THIS PRODUCT MAKING YOUR HAIR DRY/DAMAGED. ITS NOT TRUE!
Date published: 2013-02-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't use this product....Please! I've had natural blonde hair most of my life, but it's slowly faded into a light brown. I read the reviews before I bought this product. I saw the bad reviews saying thing like, "My hair is ruined!" or "John Frieda killed my hair" but I didn't listen and bought it anyways. After 13 uses it barely lightened my blonde. Yes, I was blow drying my hair with the product in because it is supposed too be heat activated. I regret using this spray so much! My hair isn't completely ruined, but there is no way to fix the damage done to it! I have to wait until my hair grows out again, and it's going too take years to fix. When my hair is wet it feels gummy and I can't brush it until it dries. When it dries it obviously looks like there is something wrong with my hair. It crinkly and rough. It wasn't worth the blonde for this damage. I've tried resoration kits and treatments, but I just have to accept the facts that it isn't going to get better. Please, If your love your hair don't use this product!
Date published: 2012-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product worked very well for me! Okay to start, I have naturally light blonde hair and decided to color my hair medium brown. A good bit of the brown faded, so when I started using this product my hair was light brown. I used this product along with the Sheer Blonde Go Blonder shampoo and conditioner for about two weeks, I'd say. I used all three products everyday! Along with blow drying and straightening my hair! At first my color was a bit brassy, but as I kept using it, it faded. I am very pleased with the results. My hair is back to it's natural light blonde that I love. The thermo-protectant in this product is a big plus! I only had one small complaint about this product, and that is the way it makes my hair feel after using it. It sorta makes your hair feel like it has too much hairspray in it. I still highly recommend this product and I will continue to use it as well.
Date published: 2012-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I swear by this stuff!! Even just after one use, I saw great results. I swear by John Frieda products, they are amazing!
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product works great I love this product! I have noticed a great difference within the first 3 days of using it! Although, it does make my hair a little tangled, i still love this product so much! It also did make my wavy hair less frizzy and straighter.
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product, but with some strings attached I am a natural blonde with bits of red here and there. Over the past few years my hair has become more red and much darker. For only $8 I thought I'd give this a shot. This product definitely brought out the blonde in my hair and lightened it completely after only 2 uses. Before purchasing this product I read horror stories of people saying that this product completely destroyed their hair, but those people did not use this product in moderation. Since this product has hydrogen peroxide it's like bleaching your hair everyday. Of course using this product for a month straight will damage your hair. My advice is to use this product twice a week at the most to prevent damage and gradually build color. I also recommend having a great conditioner because my hair did feel a bit dry at times.
Date published: 2012-08-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does lighten color, but the cons aren't worth it. I had something in between medium and dark blonde hair and figured I'd try this out to lighten up my hair a few shades. I didn't use it after the first time. I sprayed this all over my very healthy hair and blow-dried with warm air, then flat ironed a little on low heat. This stuff left a sticky feeling all over my hands and hair, kind of like a hairspray and it was pretty gross, it smells like vinegar and it took a lot of washing to get the smell out. I did notice my hair was a little bit lighter, but my color went from a fresh looking natural/warm blonde to a dull dirty looking color, but it was lighter. My hair was also really dry and stiff, the ends were kind of sticking/tangling with each other and it made it really difficult to manage.without feeling like my hair was going to get pulled out. I re-conditioned my hair immediately and I haven't used this stuff since.
Date published: 2012-08-06
  • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_355
  • loc_en_US, sid_sb-go-blonder-controlled-lightening-spray, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_johnfrieda-en_us
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT